Summer Chamber Music Series

chamber music


Thank you for supporting the Summer Chamber Music Series!


Past performances
June 30, 2016
Duquesne Piano Trioduquesne-piano-trio WSO
Haydn Gypsy Rondo Trio
Beethoven:  Piano Trio, op. 1 #1
Dvorak:  Dumky for Piano Trio, op. 90

The Duquesne Piano Trio was formed in 2013 to explore the rich literature for the combination of piano, violin and cello. All three musicians are faculty members at the Duquesne University Mary Pappert School of Music in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Pianist David Allen Wehr and violinist Charles Stegeman were longtime colleagues in the Sartory Trio, which toured internationally for Columbia Artists; Adam Liu is Assistant Principal Cellist with the Pittsburgh Symphony.

July 14, 2016
Paul Valjean: Dance Suite for Wind Quintet
Britten: Pan for Oboe from Metamorphoses Op.49    
Paul Harvey:  Etudes for Clarinet on Themes of Gershwin
Vitaly Buyanovsky:  España for F Horn, Traveling Impressions
Robert Muczynski: Fragments for Wind Trio (1958)
Malcolm Arnold: Three Shanties for Wind Quintet Op. 4
Tom Godfrey:  Lost River for solo Flute        
Phil Taylor: Jeremy Fisher for solo Bassoon    
Carl Nielson:  Wind Quintet Op. 43    

In 2006 AIRPLAY was formed as a wind trio in preparation for a series of concert performances. Since then the group has evolved into an ongoing chamber music collaborative. By remaining flexible in terms of group size and instrumentation AIRPLAY explores the vast wind music repertoire from the 17th to 21st centuries in a variety of performance situations.

AIRPLAY musicians are from a core group of players who regularly perform together with ensembles in the greater Pittsburgh area. These include The Pittsburgh Opera, Pittsburgh Ballet, PNC Broadway across America, Pittsburgh Symphony, Pittsburgh CLO, Wheeling Symphony, Westmoreland Symphony, Erie Philharmonic, Renaissance City Winds, Johnstown Symphony, Akron Symphony, Gateway to the Arts and the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust. The group includes: Tom Godfrey, flute, Renate Sakins, oboe, Mary Beth Malek, clarinet, Linda Morton Fisher, bassoon and Jason Allison, horn.


August 18, 2016
The Hoodlebug Brass (IUP)Hoodlebug-Brass-Quintet

Handel/Seipp: The Rejoicing
Mouret/King: Rondeau
Bach/Herforth: My Spirit Be Joyful
Anonymous (Speer): Die Bankelsangerlieder
Arr. Stamp : Let Us Break Bread Together
Arr. Villanueva: Amazing Grace
Arr. Knox: Savior Like a Shepherd
Luther/Neumann: Ein Feste Burg
Berlin: Alexander’s Ragtime Band
Arr. Holcombe: Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
Handy: St. Louis Blues
Ellington/Jarvis: It Don’t Mean a Thing
Arr. Holcombe: I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself
Carmichael/Niehaus: Stardust
Arr. Nagle: Back Home Again in Indiana
Waller: Ain’t Misbehavin’
Pollack/Cooper: That’s a Plenty

The HoodleBug Brass is the brass quintet-in-residence at Indiana University of Pennsylvania and is comprised of the four full-time and one part-time brass faculty within the Department of Music. The ensemble performs regularly on the IUP campus and presents numerous clinics and concerts in public schools and churches throughout the region each year. In 2000 the HoodleBug Brass co-commissioned a new work for concert band and brass quintet by renowned composer Dr. John Cheetham. “Concertino for Brass Quintet and Symphonic Band” was premiered at the 2001 PMEA Conference held in Hershey, PA. The HoodleBug Brass released its first compact disc, entitled “Brass Fac’s,” in March 2004. The quintet performs works of all styles, from the Baroque to contemporary, pop and jazz. The group includes Dr. Kevin Eisensmith, trumpet, Dr. David Ferguson, trumpet, Dr. Jack Scandrett, horn,  Dr. Christian Dickinson, trombone and Dr. Zach Collins, tuba.

Underwritten by the Charles F. and Mary Esther Sawyer Music Fund
of the Latrobe Presbyterian Church